30 Before 30

Twenty-nine years ago today, at 8:29 in the morning, I finally made my appearance after a week of labor (well, my mom says it was a week.) And I think she’d get a kick out of the fact that, like she did 29 years ago, I spent half past eight in the morning of August 16 hanging out with a big baby – my hubby – and a doctor.

To be fair to Ryan, he didn’t want to go to the doctor, and I’m sure he only booked his doctor’s appointment for so early on my birthday to get back at me for making him go. I may not be a mother, but I mother very well.

To be fair to me, though, he’s had a nasty mole on his back for a long time, and the mole scares me. Almost as much as going to the doctor scares me. But not a fraction as much as, you know, cancer scares me.

And so I spent the morning of my 29th birthday embracing some fear. That’s what this last year before I hit 30 is supposed to be about, I suppose. Being brave and all that.

So far, I’m not a fan.

I hope to get the hang of it, though, as I work my way through my 30 Before 30 list.

30 Before 30

  1. Start – and maintain – a blog.
  2. Perfect the art of pie baking.
  3. Knit Christmas stockings.
  4. Run a race.
  5. Travel overseas.
  6. Bake a turkey dinner.
  7. Complete the Whole 30 challenge.
  8. Learn a European medieval martial art.
  9. Participate in NaNoWriMo.
  10. Make a new close friend.
  11. Read and blog about 30 new books.
  12. Start my own business.
  13. Grow a garden.
  14. Get a new tattoo.
  15. Create a budget and stick to it.
  16. Learn to drive a standard.
  17. Learn to bake my grandma’s buns.
  18. Submit a short story for publication or an award.
  19. Take a class that contributes nothing to my higher learning.
  20. Take some form of lessons, like piano, horseback riding, or fencing lessons.
  21. Build a blanket fort.
  22. Send a parcel or a letter to a loved one.
  23. Go up in a hot air balloon.
  24. Learn to shoot a gun.
  25. Create a piece of art for my house.
  26. Donate blood.
  27. Go to a live show for one of my favorite bands.
  28. Practice yoga every day for 30 days.
  29. Go to a completely geeky event, like a Con, Medieval Fair, or boardgame convention.
  30. Write my novel.

My list is mostly the things I’ve been saying I want to do for a while but haven’t found the time or the guts or the motivation to do. So this year, I’m finding the time, growing some guts, and counting on you guys to give me the motivation to cross every last thing off this list.

One thought on “30 Before 30

Leave a Reply

