Top 5 Things I’m Thankful For

I’m a tremendously lucky lady. I have many things to be thankful for this Thanksgiving weekend – a nice house, lots of food to eat, the return of Walking Dead. But I’ve narrowed my list of things I’m truly thankful for down to five things. 

1. My hubby.
In the interest of not getting too terribly sappy, I’ll say this about my husband: Ryan is the single greatest thing that’s ever happened to me. He’s shown me unconditional love, tremendous patience, and wholehearted acceptance, and I can’t imagine my life without him by my side. He’s my player 1, my daily giggle, my baby(pug)daddy – and my life would be a lot less fun if he weren’t in it.

2. My family.
I’ve been spoiled with two great families: the Smiths and the Blairs. My mom is the strongest, wisest woman I know. She’s tried to teach me as many life lessons as she can (and then helps me through when I choose to learn my life lessons the hard way.) My dad would do anything for his girls (and now for “the boy,” as he so calls Ryan, and for his grandpug.) He’ll pick us up a movie he thinks we’ll like or pay to have our tires changed. His is a thoughtful, quiet kind of love. My sister is my absolute best friend in the world, and I couldn’t get through the day without her texts, Facebook posts, and visits. She’s who I aspire to be someday, even though she’s my ‘baby’ sister.

And the Blairs have wholeheartedly accepted me as one of the family. My brothers-in-law have truly become my brothers, and while we don’t get to see my sister-in-law and her hubby as much as I would like, we have an absolute blast when we do get together. My father-in-law shares my same love of fantasy novels (and thank god he’s handy – we wouldn’t have a working furnace if not for him.) My mother-in-law is always thinking of her kids, sending care packages from the garden and thoughtful cards for special occasions.

3. My friends.
I used to think I didn’t really need friends. Well, my friends have proven me wrong. Whether it’s my bffs, my friends from college, my work friends, the Twitter friends I don’t yet know in real life, or the Twitter friends who have become real-life friends, I am so lucky to know so many smart, talented, kind souls who have accepted me and who fill my days with laughter, companionship, and support.

4. My work.
Every day, I get paid to do work that I’m passionate about for a good wage from the comfort of my home. Yes, if my job were an animal, it would be a unicorn – that’s how freaking magical it is. I get to interview some really cool people, learn some really cool things, and then write some really cool articles about it (all while enjoying a work-life balance I thought was a myth.)

5. My blog.
I’ve always found it so hard to put myself out there. My blog has given me a safe place to do that and to find like-minded people I didn’t know existed in my life. I really have enjoyed all the writing I’ve been able to do because of my blog, and I so appreciate anyone who has taken a minute to read a post or share a comment. Thank you all.

Tell me, friends: what are you thankful for this Thanksgiving weekend?

Leave a Reply

