Obligations and Ostriches

I’ve always been a bit of an ostrich when it comes to stress: when faced with a problem, I bury my head in the sand. Rather than dealing with it before it becomes a crisis, I leave it to future-Jen. (Or, even better, someone else.) 

All through college, my best friend called me a hermit, because when things got too crazy at school or work (or usually both), I’d hide myself away in my condo and not talk to anyone. I watched a lot of Lord of the Rings in those days. A lot a lot.

I wish I could say I’ve gotten better with age, but really, I’ve just gotten better at hiding from bigger obligations.

I have no idea how much money I have in my bank account at the moment. Literally zero. My hubby deals with all our finances, including our taxes, because money stuff causes me too much stress.

I have no idea how I’m going to finish my work and my freelance projects and my volunteer obligations before the end of the week. Sure, I could spend some time on it during the evening or weekend, but instead, I’ll procrastinate until the very last minute, because a looming deadline causes me too much stress.

I have no idea how I’m going to fit in time with my husband, my friends, and myself with all this other stuff going on and without causing hurt feelings, but instead of being honest and upfront about it, I’ll make it work, because navigating personal relationships causes me too much stress.

Yeah, I have no idea how I made it this far in life either.

For me, there’s no easy answer to this. Obligations cause me stress, and life is full of obligations – obligations that can quite easily be taken care of if you, you know, take care of them.

So tonight, instead of curling up with a book or two and an episode of American Horror Story (I’m a multi-tasker, after all), I’m going to make a to-do list and knock some of these obligations off of it.

Starting with my weekly Wednesday blog post.

Tell me, friends: how in the heck do you deal with procrastination? Seriously? I still watch a lot of Lord of the Rings, but I don’t think that’s working for me anymore…

2 thoughts on “Obligations and Ostriches

    1. Jen Post author

      Lord of the Rings is my go-to movie (I always watch all three) when I’m feeling stressed or down (or pretty much any time). I usually get about 30 minutes into Fellowship of the Ring before I fall asleep – it just relaxes me so much! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

