Friday Reads: Eat Pray Love

They say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. Well, I would also argue that you shouldn’t judge a book by its movie, based on my recent reading of Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. 

First, a brief synopsis (no spoilers):
Fresh off a nasty divorce and an even nastier break-up with her rebound boyfriend, Elizabeth Gilbert decides to take a year off from her life in America and travel to Italy, where she hopes to learn about pleasure; an ashram in India, to learn about spirituality; and Indonesia, to learn about balance. Along the way, she comes to terms with the past and creates a more optimistic future, writing about her experiences in a frank and entertaining way.

The first time I watched Eat Pray Love, back when I was in the midst of a deep dark depression, I found the film to be self-indulgent and the character of Liz to be unlikeable. You can’t just fix all of your problems by traversing across the world, running away from your responsibilities, I raged as too-perfect Julia Roberts struggled to zip up her size 0 jeans after a plate of pasta in Italy. YOU DON’T KNOW MY LIFE, LIZ GILBERT! 

The second time I watched it (yes, there was a second time; no, I don’t know why), I was a little more forgiving of the film. I was in a better place, and I appreciated her journey a little more. Even so, I figured there wasn’t much I could take away from the book, after having seen the movie. Been there, done that.

Eat Pray Love the book came my way anyway as part of a box of discards from my mom. She read about four pages and shucked it aside, writing it off as self-indulgent as well, knowing her. But I knew many people enjoyed the book, and I wanted something quick to read, so I picked it up one night – and didn’t put it down until I was finished it a few days later.

It was good. It was really good.

Elizabeth Gilbert provided fantastic insight into the destruction of her relationships and the depression that followed. Her sharing wasn’t self-indulgent – depression never is – and I found it refreshing and inspirational that a woman could leave behind a life that wasn’t working to try to carve out a better path for herself.

Her travels through Italy showed her pursuing pleasure – mainly in the form of food – with abandon, but it was her time at an ashram in India that really drew me in. Her spiritual journey through yoga was something I could relate to (though on a much smaller scale), and that part of the book showed the most how she grew and changed during her time away.

And while I love a good love story (and I know this one had a happy ending), I found myself frustrated that Liz set aside her quest for growth to fall into bed with a man in Indonesia. There, she had an opportunity to learn under a wise old medicine man, and instead, she squandered it for something as common as a lover.

The ending, of her losing herself yet again in a man, left me wondering a little if she hadn’t truly learned her lesson during her year away. Indonesia was meant to show a balance between spirituality and pleasure, but balance flew right out the window as soon as she met a man who adored her.

Perhaps the real lesson in that is that growth is an ongoing process. You don’t learn your lesson and then check it off a to-do list. Rather, you’re constantly learning, constantly growing, and the lessons you’re meant to learn will keep arising over the course of your life, keeping you constantly vigilant about the path that you’re on.

One thought on “Friday Reads: Eat Pray Love

Leave a Reply

