Self-Care April

I’m in a terrible funk.

I don’t know if it’s because of this never-ending winter (though I suspect that’s part of it.) I don’t know if it’s because of my unhealthy lifestyle over the past month (which came first – the bad mood or the bad food?) I don’t know if it’s because I’m burnt out (from what, I can’t say – I have no kids; I like my job; and I’ve come to epitomize “lazy Sunday”…every day of the week.) 

Whatever the reason, I don’t want to do anything, see anyone, be anywhere, or try anymore.

Yes, this is how my depression started all those years ago.

So naturally, I’m in fix-it mode. Because, of course, when you’re bummed out, the best thing you can do is force yourself to feel better.

Nonetheless, I’m going to try it anyway, with a little something I like to call Self-Care April. (Self-Care September has a better ring to it, but I can’t wait that long.)

So here’s my plan, because I’m a planner, and if I don’t share it, I won’t be accountable.

For the month of April, I’m going to focus on three things in each of the areas that contribute to my mental well-being: physical, mental, emotional/spiritual, and social health.

Physical
1. Move my body at least 30 minutes every day.
2. Cook 90 per cent of my weekly meals at home. (19 meals out of 21)
3. Be in bed by 9 on weeknights.

Mental
1. Blog two times a week.
2. Read books, not Buzzfeed.
3. Do at least two hours of creative writing a week.

Emotional/Spiritual
1. Plan one date night a week (that doesn’t involve the TV – sorry, hubby!)
2. Write in my gratitude journal every day.
3. Meditate every day.

Social
1. Enjoy one media-free weekend.
2. Leave the house at least once every day (except Sundays – let’s not go crazy here.)
3. Schedule at least one friend date/outing a week.

At the end of the month, I’ll reward myself with…something. Something awesome. Books? More books? So many books? I’m open to suggestions (because clearly, I’m useless at rewards that don’t involve books.)

Tell me, friends, how would you reward yourself after a month of digging yourself out of a rut?

5 thoughts on “Self-Care April

  1. Geraint Isitt

    Find someone who lives in Dubai or another far off destination and see if he can get you disounted tickets to fly there at some point in the coming year. For the hubby as well. Books are always good though. Or maybe, reward yourself with a spa weekend away.

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Dubai would be a hell of a way to get out of my funk. Alas, Scotland beckons this year. If I ever start planning…

      Reply
  2. Mary

    Sorry to hear u have been in a funk. I have been having some of those days too. This winter is just such a downer. Would you like to meet up one of these days? Would love to be able to finally meet you!

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I’d love to meet up! I’ve been hoping for the snow to go away so we can take the pups on a walk, but I’m starting to fear it’s here to stay forever. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Brie @ Eat Books

    I can relate to most of this post, Jen. This is a huge reason why I was ready to leave BC when we did. The gloomy, grey winters were too hard on my mental status. I will take the cold weather and sunshine over rain and gloom any day! I’ve never worked from home, but before I had Sully, I did have a job where I would get big chunks of days off in a row. During the winter months, I had to force myself to get out of the house, even just to run a quick errand. For whatever reason, this made me much more productive when I got back home.

    Anyway, I say reward yourself with whatever you would be least likely to splurge on for yourself! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

