A Dirty Hotel, a Skunky Elevator, and a Jacked-Up Truck

I don’t put much stock in my dreams. I mean, the other night, I dreamed that Wolverine got bitten by a zombie and I had to figure out whether he would turn, given his super powers – which only serves to tell me that my subconscious mind is freaking awesome.

But I haven’t been able to shake another strange dream I had a couple nights ago, which of course must mean that it’s full of hidden portents and insights about my life.

I dreamed that I was in a dirty hotel. Now, I’m not prissy about many things – I once fell into a mud puddle while interviewing someone and carried on like it was nothing – but I’m prissy about hotels. Last week, I stayed in a perfectly clean, perfectly fine hotel in Lethbridge, but because it gave off a shabby vibe, I won’t be back. Yes, I’m a princess, but only about hotels.

Anyway, I was in a dirty hotel, and I wanted to leave it (naturally.) So I pressed the button on the elevator, and when the doors opened, a surfeit of skunks hissed and growled at me. The elevator was out. I went to the stairwell, and the stairs were much, much deeper than normal. Strange, but not elevator-full-of-skunks strange, so I eased myself down the stairs slowly, hanging onto the rail and crawling down like a baby might. But once I got to the parkade, I found that my way out was blocked completely by jacked-up trucks that I couldn’t get around. Finally, I decided to ride my bike against traffic and exit via the in-door of the parkade. At last, I was free.

The dream was strange – yet specific – enough that I did a bit of research and puzzling on my own to figure out what it might mean in the context of my life. And here’s what I’ve come up with:

My dream is about regaining my health. Because of course it is.

According to Dream Moods, dreaming of a hotel “signifies a new state of mind or a shift in personal identity. You are undergoing some sort of transition and need to move away from your old habits and old way of thinking.” Makes sense. My health is a dirty hotel, but like a dirty hotel, I have a choice not to stay there. Staying in a hotel is temporary, and I can leave at any time.

My first choice – to take the elevator – signifies to me the path of least resistance. Elevators are easy. But I couldn’t take the elevator. For all intents and purposes, it was out of order (on account of the skunks.) Dream Moods says this means I feel stuck. Well, yeah. I’ve done a lot of crazy and not so crazy things over the past five years to lose weight, to no avail. I hate being fat, and I fear I’ll be stuck like this forever. The skunks (apparently) represent that suppressed anger and fear.

The stairs show my struggles and setbacks. I had to ease myself down the extra-large steps, which shows a lack of confidence in achieving my goals. But in the end, I made it down, slowly but surely. Even steps that are hard are progress toward my goals.

Then the parkade. I must admit I don’t know what to make of this, but Dream Moods now has me sorted. Parkades signify that I’m going around in circles in my life, and seeing a pick-up truck represents hard work. “You need to return to the basics.” Given that I was blocked in by the trucks, this is an obstacle for me, but one I must overcome.

That I chose to escape the parkade on my bike is likely no accident. Biking has always represented freedom to me, and it’s one of the only forms of exercise I actually enjoy. So perhaps making time for my bike is the means by which I can regain my health? But Dream Moods also says that riding a bike in a dream signifies balance – balancing work and leisure time in order to succeed. I must admit I suck at this. I would rather curl up with videogames or movies or books than exercise.

But in the end, I escaped the dirty hotel, which I’m taking as a sign of hope. Despite the obstacles in my way, I persevered and made it out of that dirty hotel.

Now, I don’t put much stock in dreams. But even if my subconscious isn’t speaking to me, isn’t giving me a nudge in the right direction, it’s a comforting reminder that the dirty hotels life throws your way need only be temporary if you’re willing to do some work to escape them.

4 thoughts on “A Dirty Hotel, a Skunky Elevator, and a Jacked-Up Truck

  1. Geraint Isitt

    Interesting. I have only ever remembered a handful of dreams. EVER. Don’t know why I don’t remember them. Maybe I don’t hit that deepest level of sleep yet?

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Bedtime is my favorite time of day because I can’t wait to dream. My dreams are always very vivid, even if they don’t “mean” anything. I rarely remember my dreams in such detail, but I usually catch flashes of my dreams when I wake up. I usually take melatonin or some other sleep aid before I go to bed, so I’m sure that helps me get to that deep sleep needed for dreaming.

      Reply
  2. Mary

    I have gained so much weight the past couple of years that I also cannot seem to lose. It started getting really bad around the time I got diagnosed with hypothyroidism. How is your thyroid?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

